Monday, 18 June 2018

Space Police: Rise of the Retail-Bot by David Blake

I always jump at the chance to read one of David's books, so big thanks to him and TBC Reviewers Request Group on Facebook for the copy of this book, the fourth in the Space Police series.


The Blurb:

It’s the 25th Century and the President of Earth is trying to wriggle out of having to marry a robot.

Meanwhile… Dewbush finds himself falling in love with a retail-bot who’s in illegal possession of a sense of humour. But when she’s recalled by her manufacturer for immediate decommissioning, Capstan suspects they may have darker motives for wanting her silenced.

This, the fourth in the brand new Space Police series, is a hilariously funny Sci Fi space comedy that's just perfect for fans of Douglas Adams Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, and the Space Team books.

My Review:

Another outing for my favourite intergalactic crime fighting duo. This time they head for the exotic location of Milton Keynes, Planet Earth. Sweet innocent Dewbush falls in love with a Retail-Bot called Jenny, who he is convinced he can be happy with forever. And he might well be right - if he buys at least two jumpers a day.

But before he can plan his nuptials, he and Capstan have to save Jenny from being decommissioned, and themselves from danger. Oh, and the world too.

Another hilarious romp of a story that I loved. The relationship between our two heroes is so brilliant. And as I've said before, setting a comedy series in a future where humour is outlawed is just genius. And there is a touch of Mr Bean about the intrepid duo - they find themselves in all sorts of ridiculous situations with no idea how to get out, then they escape almost accidentally.

There is nothing I don't like about this book, and this series, so far anyway. The crime books I usually read are much heavier and more serious than this, so it is always a joy to change it up and read one of David's once in a while.  I look forward to many more.

You can purchase Space Police: Rise of the Retail-Bot here.

I have also linked my reviews of David's other books -  Space Police: The Final Fish Finger and Space Police: The Toaster That Time Forgot.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Crossing the Line by Nikki Rose

It's my pleasure to be opening the tour for this book - Nikki's debut romantic suspense novel. The Blurb : He’s a killer a...