Monday, 30 April 2018

Space Police: The Toaster That Time Forgot by David Blake

I was lucky enough to be able to read another David Blake comedy through the TBC Reviewers Request Group. It was so much fun.


The Blurb:

It's the 25th Century and the President of Earth is about to be arrested for tax evasion.

Meanwhile... as Detective Inspector Capstan becomes increasingly used to his new life in the future, he's asked to track down a mad and rather disgruntled scientist who's just escaped from a maximum security prison asteroid. But when the scientist in question threatens to travel back in time to punish the person he feels responsible for having had him locked up, it's up to Capstan and Dewbush to do whatever they can to stop him.

This, the third in the brand new Space Police series, is a hilariously funny Sci Fi space comedy that's just perfect for fans of Douglas Adams Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, and the Space Team books.

My Review:

Capstan and Dewbush are back for another adventure. Oh, I do love this pair. Dewbush with his wide eyed innocence and Capstan still finding his feet (well foot, really, as the other one is bionic) after waking up four hundred odd years in the future.

In this hilarious story, our intrepid duo get a case that involves two eccentric scientists, one of whom is definitely a bit mad, a time travelling machine disguised as a toaster, dinosaurs, Black Friday and a sandwich maker. Meanwhile, the work shy, golf loving President (remind you of anyone?) of the Earth has his own problems with the IRS, back taxes and a giant worm, who can't wait to see his sex tape!

It's utterly, utterly bonkers and brilliant because of it. I loved the passing references to 'Back to the Future' and 'Mr Benn' - so appropriate given the story.

I am loving work from David, and looking forward to reading more. Highly recommend if you fancy a good giggle. Don't worry if you haven't read the previous books in the series, this works fine as a standalone, but you should read them anyway, because they're great.

You can buy Space Police: The Toaster That Time Forgot on Amazon UK and US.

You can read my review of Space Police: The Final Fish Finger by David Blake here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Start by Graham Morgan

I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for this important and brave book. My thanks to Kelly at Love Books Group Tours for invitin...