Monday, 2 July 2018

Beg For Mercy by Keith Nixon

Hello lovelies!

I'm so sorry I've not been around much lately. It's been a combination of having a lot of work on, tech problems and, you know, life. Adulting. Ugh. And it's been so hot! Yes, even up here, north of the border!

Anyway, I'm back now. And having enjoyed previous books by Keith Nixon, I was delighted for the opportunity to read the latest Solomon Gray novel. Big thanks to Keith and The TBC Reviewers Request Group.


The Blurb:

Two men fight to prove their innocence. One a cop, the other a convicted murderer. One of them is lying.

Fifteen years ago Duncan Usher was sent to prison for killing his wife, Valerie. Young Detective Solomon Gray was first at the scene. His biggest case yet.

But Duncan Usher didn't kill Valerie. While someone was strangling Val, Usher had another man's blood on his hands. Usher took the fall for Val's death, but now he's out. Released on a technicality. He's held a grudge all this time, and he won't stop until he gets revenge on the dirty cop who framed him. Usher sets his sights on DS Solomon Gray.

And he has no qualms about using Gray's son, Tom, as a pawn to get what he wants.

Beg for Mercy is the third book in a series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. The crime series is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

My Review:

This the third book in a series about Solomon Gray. Although I have read the first two books (check out my reviews of Dig Two Graves and Burn the Evidence, this also works just fine as a standalone. In my opinion this is the strongest so far, and I loved the other two!

The story is set in dual timelines - fifteen years ago when Duncan Usher was accused of this wife's murder, and present day, where he has been released from prison. I really enjoyed this approach - seeing the story develop like this.  It was great to learn about the younger Sol, when his family was complete, he was an enthusiastic young cop and in awe of his mentor Jeff Carslake. And then to see him now, a pretty haunted man, certainly more jaded and who perhaps now thinks differently about Carslake.

Duncan Usher has always protested his innocence, so Sol sets out to re investigate the case. But Usher is convinced that he was set up by a corrupt cop and sets after our hero. But there were also two other officers involved in the case 15 years ago...

As Sol begins to investigate, the case gets murkier and murkier. Is there really something going on within the police? Can Gray solve the mystery in time? I can't answer these questions for you without giving away spoilers, so I suggest you read the book instead!

I really enjoyed this book. It cracks along at a great pace, and having the two timelines adds to the interest and tension. Of course, missing son Tom is never far from Sol's mind and the book ends on a cliff hanger - there had better be another instalment! Would happily recommend.

You can buy Beg For Mercy from Amazon UK and US.

The Author:


Keith Nixon has been writing since he was a child. In fact his wife and friends say he's never really grown up. He is currently gainfully employed in a senior sales role meaning he gets to use his one skill, talking too much. He also drinks beer and is a coffee snob.

Keith writes crime and historical fiction novels. His crime books are published by indie house Caffeine Nights and historical novels by Gladius Press. Keith also reviews for Crime Fiction Lover and Big Al's Books & Pals.

You can find out more on Keith's website.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Start by Graham Morgan

I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for this important and brave book. My thanks to Kelly at Love Books Group Tours for invitin...