Sunday, 14 April 2019

I Know You by Erik Therme

Having enjoyed Erik's last book, Keep Her Close (see my review here), I was delighted to be asked to read this one, a standalone psychological thriller. My thanks to Noelle Holton at Bookoutre for inviting me on the tour, and providing my review copy, which I received via Netgalley.



The Blurb:

‘I can help you save your sister. But I need something from you …’

Sisters Bree and Alissa Walker share a special bond. Neglected by their parents, they have always looked out for one another. But one day, sixteen-year-old Alissa goes missing. When Bree discovers her green backpack with all her belongings, abandoned on the steps of their run-down trailer, she knows that something bad has happened …

Then she receives a chilling text message. Someone has Alissa. But Bree will have to give up something very precious in exchange.

Desperate to save Alissa, Bree looks at everyone close to their family. She’s sure that Alissa’s best friend is keeping something back about her little sister and a boy at school, and why has their estranged uncle, who they’ve not seen in years, been hanging around again?

It soon becomes clear that the person behind the message knows a lot about the dark truths within the Walker family and will go to any lengths to get revenge. And as the search for Alissa continues, Bree discovers something about her brother Tyler that she wishes she hadn’t, a dangerous secret, which is also the key to bringing her little sister back home … 

A gripping and addictive thriller about family secrets and lies and the lengths people will go to protect them. Perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll and Louise Jensen. 


I Know You was published by Bookoutre on 12th April 2019 and you can purchase it using the links below.


Buy Links:



My Review:

This is the second book by this author I've read, and like Keep Her Close this one also focuses on family, and tugs at the heartstrings.

This is a story about a family - 3 siblings, a hard working, worn down mother and an alcoholic dead loss of a father. Despite a ten year age difference, sisters Bree and Alissa have always been close, although it's harder now Alissa is a teenager and often goes off unannounced to stay with a friend. Their brother Tyler has gone off the rails a wee bit, and very rarely shows up at home, with the rest of the family often having no idea where he is.

Alissa is kidnapped for no apparent reason, and Bree is told if she follows instructions and doesn't involve the police, she will get her sister back unharmed. But in return for something else... As she enlists Tyler's help in the search, we find out more about his recent erratic lifestyle, and some problems he had with an ex girlfriend.

Bree is a brilliant character - I instantly cared about her, and could sense her desperation. She has really been a surrogate mother to Alissa, despite her own long working hours. She's strong, capable, dependable, fiercely loyal and willing to fight for her family. Tyler is well written too - he struck me as a decent kid who'd taken a few wrong turns.

The story was sufficiently complex to easily hold my interest and keep me turning the pages - in fact, I read it in just a day. There are plenty of red herrings and dead ends too. The pace is perfect - increasing as the story goes on, moving towards the sad and bloody final scenes, which I really hadn't seen coming. Talk about twisted grief!

For me, as well as being a fab psychological thriller, this was also a study of a family's love, strength and loyalty, and being there for one another. There is one short scene towards the end of the book between Bree's parents which discusses just that, and I actually cheered out loud for her mum! Really enjoyable book.


The Author:


Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harboured runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering for his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his seventeen-year-old. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa - one of only twenty places in the world UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature.


Author Social Media Links:


No comments:

Post a Comment

The Dancing Girls by MM Chouinard

Today is my stop on the tour for crime thriller The Dancing Girls. A new name to me, I really enjoyed this one from MM Chouinard. Thanks to ...