Tuesday, 20 August 2019

Fugitive 13 by Rob Sinclair

It's my stop today on the blog tour for this fab book, a follow up to the brilliant Sleeper 13. Thanks to Tracy Fenton at Compulsive Readers for inviting me to take part and to the publisher for my review copy.



The Blurb:

The explosive, gripping new thriller from bestselling author Rob Sinclair - for fans of Orphan X, I Am Pilgrim and Nomad.

Aydin Torkal - aka Sleeper 13 - is on the run.

Hunted not only by the world's intelligence agencies, but also by the elite brotherhood of insurgents he betrayed, he has lived the past year like a ghost.

Until now.

MI6 agent Rachel Cox knows Aydin better than anyone. The only person who believes he is an ally in the ongoing war on terror, not the enemy.

So when a coded message arrives from him, warning her not to trust her own colleagues, Rachel must choose between her career and the truth.

But as Aydin hunts down those who destroyed his childhood, the trail he follows will lead him closer to home than he ever expected.

He won't stop until he has his revenge.

He is FUGITIVE 13.


Fugitive 13 was published by Orion Books as an eBook on 7th March 2019 and will be released in paperback on 22nd August 2019. You can purchase it from Waterstones, Amazon UK, Amazon US and other good bookshops.


My Review:

I have been looking forward to this since I read Sleeper 13 back in January (you can see my review here). This is the follow up to that, and the second part of a trilogy. The third book, Imposter 13, is due for release in March next year. I think Fugitive 13 is probably best enjoyed it you read Sleeper 13 first, but it works fine as a standalone.

As a child, Aydin was taken by his father from the family home in London to 'The Farm' in Afghanistan, and left there to be taught how to fight. But he never believed in the extremist values of 'The Teacher' who was trying to turn him and other young boys into killers. Now, years later, he wants revenge against the people who stole his childhood, but he also wants to know why his father took him there in the first place. And unknown to him, his sister Nilay who is now in her twenties also wants to know what happened to her father and brother all those years ago, and will go to any lengths to find out. 

As with the first book, this is sadly a story for our times. The action criss crosses the Middle East, and features ISIS, other extreme factions and refugee camps. It has clearly been well researched. The pace is always quick, reflecting the fact that Aydin must be constantly on the move to stay alive. MI6 and those who were once his allies all want him dead. Except maybe Rachel Cox. 

I really like Rachel - she's got some real guts! I love to see female characters right in the thick of it, and she always is. She is determined, principled and can handle herself. She's a really well written, well rounded character. I like the conflict in her - loyal to MI6 but drawn to Aydin, and it was interesting to see some of the internal relationships in MI6.  Aydin makes me a little sad. He has been turned into something that he never wanted to be, and is pretty much all alone. All the players here are well described, as are the various locations, and it was interesting to see some of the relationships within MI6 The story does jump about quite a bit, so I needed to stay on the ball, but I find this adds interest for me. 

The writing is taut, the story fast paced and the action comes thick and fast. It was a page turner from the beginning to the explosive finale. A great second instalment, and I look forward completing the trilogy next year. 


The Author:


Rob is the author of the critically acclaimed and bestselling Enemy series and James Ryker series of espionage thrillers as well as the globetrotting thriller hit Sleeper 13. His books have sold over half a million copies to date with many reviewers and readers having likened Rob's work to authors at the very top of the genre, including Lee Child and Vince Flynn.

Rob began writing in 2009 following a promise to his wife, an avid reader, that he could pen a ‘can’t put down’ thriller. He worked for nearly 13 years for a global accounting firm after graduating from The University of Nottingham in 2002, specialising in forensic fraud investigations at both national and international levels. Rob now writes full time.

Originally from the North East of England, Rob has lived and worked in a number of fast paced cities, including New York, and is now settled in the West Midlands with his wife and young sons.

Rob's website is www.robsinclairauthor.com and he can be followed on Twitter at @rsinclairauthor and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/robsinclairauthor/

No comments:

Post a Comment

Morecambe & Vice Crime Writing Festival - Spotlight on Paul Burston

I am really delighted to be one of the bloggers opening the tour for Morecambe & Vice, which takes place at The Midland Hotel in  Moreca...